Seasons of Growth

Some seasons in life are just meant to be seasons of growth and there is nothing wrong with that. I think oftentimes we as humans strive so hard for success that we forget to take in the beauty of the lessons learned. Not every lesson is learned from success and pure joyous moments. Some of the hardest and best lessons are learned just like that, the hard way.

This past year has been one of the biggest growth seasons of my life. Some of the hardest things I’ve ever had to deal with in my life happened, and I took the toll of those both physically and emotionally. But some of the best, most joyous moments happened this year too. I had to fight like heck to keep moving and get out of bed despite the struggles I was dealing with and the pure exhaustion fighting was causing me. I had to work my butt off just to finish one of the most demanding, time-consuming course loads I’ve had yet while taking on more and more of the things life was throwing at me. I was challenged to my absolute max with lots of new experiences, but man did God reward me. Along with the extreme lows came the extreme highs, and I could not have been more blessed with such amazing friends to support and encourage me this past year.

Growth seasons aren’t always sunshine and roses. Don’t get me wrong, this year consisted of plenty of laughs and smiles, but it also consisted heavily of tears, desperate prayers, and hugs from friends. It was a hard growth period. I felt those growing pains for sure, but I kept at it. I kept reciting in my head, God I know you have some challenging months ahead, but I know good things will come out of it. You’re going to push me to limits I didn’t even know I was capable of being pushed to, but I know there is a reason for it. Thank you for this growth season. And that couldn’t have been truer than true. He pushed me far past what I thought my capabilities were. He showed me that I really am capable of all things in Him. He showed me that I was so far stronger than I ever imagined I would have to be. He showed me that there is always light at the end of the tunnel, and throughout for that matter, for those who are willing to see it. He showed me just how much to appreciate the little joys of each day instead of the lows, because you never know how much further off your life could change in a matter of seconds. He taught me not to complain about the little things because I realized that when others did so, oh how I wished that could have been my biggest and only problem. He showed me that sometimes God is crying right alongside with ya. He taught me that leaning on others is sometimes needed. He taught me that trusting others, including Him, is also necessary. Most importantly, He showed me that when you’re out of your comfort zone, challenged to your max, that that is when you grow. That when you have nowhere else to run but to Jesus, that that is when you learn what true dependency on Him looks like. That when you experience some of your lowest lows that you’re also in the process of experiencing some of your highest highs. 

You see, although this year was by far the hardest I have experienced yet, I have never been so joyful, so thankful, so positively challenged, as I was this year. Amongst all the new lows I felt this year were some of the highest highs. You see, I had plenty of new experiences this year: lot’s I was tired of fighting anymore but merely wanted to climb into bed and never come out… but I stuck to it and experienced some of the most joyful new experiences and opportunities I have had yet.

You see, seasons of growth are wonderful and have such beautiful results come out of them, but they aren’t easy. You have to be willing and up to the challenge when God hands you one. You have to look at the struggles ahead and keep reminding yourself that you are growing and that although it will be hard there is always a purpose at the end. You have to be willing to open your eyes to see more of what God’s up to than just the pain in front of you. And sometimes you don’t know, but you have to keep faith that God has a reason for the season.

Leave a Reply

