Thankful For -30 Degree Wind Chills

That’s right. This major freeze baby is thankful for -30 degree wind chills and a numb face.

Why?!?

Today as I was walking back from class in my triple layer of fuzzy socks, big boots, doubled up scarves, my hat and hood, my big winter jacket and thick mittens, I thought to myself, “Wow, God is so good to me how could I even complain about the freezing snow being blown in my face?”

You see, often times our world focuses too much on the negatives. Yes, it is cold. Yes, we have long walks to class. Yes, it’s inconvenient to have to layer so much, but we are alive.

Throughout today I was constantly seeing just how faithful and loving God is through the little things. In the midst of finals, everyone seems to be restless and worried running from one stressor off to the next, yet God gave me peace. While everyone in my major seems to be effected by course cuts, my planned courses for next semester still remain intact. Throughout weeks my computer hasn’t even been working properly and has been making noises, yet miraculously today my computer powered through without issues all throughout my important review. God has been so good to me today … and everyday. I just don’t always take time to realize how good He is to me. So today I take these frigid wind chills as a wake up call.

Even though these last couple of days have been frigid and hard to bear, and the forecast for the days ahead only seems to be getting more frigid,

I am thankful.

I am thankful for the reminder, that I am so incredibly blessed. 

I’m thankful for the little things, like the accomplishment of getting to class without feeling frozen to the core or having hot chocolate on hand for walks to class on days like these.

I am thankful that I can come home to working heat every night, because oftentimes I think our society takes that for granted.

I’m thankful that, unlike some, I am equipped and fortunate enough to be able to bundle up in millions of layers.

And of course, I am thankful for blankets. Lots and lots of blankets.

Lastly, I’m thankful for a God who loves me so incredibly much, He fills me up with warmth and goodness, both inside and out.

I’m thankful because I can be. Because I have the ability to be. Because I am blessed.

So even though I may not be in love with how cold it is outside or how numb my toes feel, I am covered in God’s love and equipped with continuous reminders of just how much I am blessed and adored. How could I not be thankful with a God like that?

So I thank these particularly cold Midwest winters for waking me up to all of God’s blessings, both big and small.

Leave a Reply

