To The One That Broke My Heart: Thank You

To the one that broke my heart: thank you.

Here I am a year later, finally able to see things clearly and I just wanted to say thank you.

Thank you for helping to clarify what it is I’m truly looking for in a man and what it is I am not looking for.

Thank you for making me aware of what true disrespect looks like. And thank you for making me realize I don’t have to settle for it.

Thank you for pushing me to learn what it feels like to finally stand up for myself and not back down.

Thank you for proving to me exactly why I shouldn’t settle for less than the treatment I deserve.

Thank you for forcing me to realize when it’s time to walk away and protect myself.

Thank you for ultimately making me stronger because thanks to you, I now stand firm in who I am and where I stand.

Thanks to you, I now know better than to settle for someone that doesn’t treat me the way I deserve to be treated all of the time, not just some of the time.

Thanks to you, I now know to protect my heart more than ever before.

Thanks to you, I’ve learned that some men can be quite good actors and mess with my heart, but I won’t let you discourage me from ever trusting a man again. No, I am smarter than to let you stain my perception of all men. 

And last but not least, thanks to you, I now know how good freedom feels.

God will give me a soulmate someday, and I know it’ll be worth the wait.

But until then, I’m going to enjoy my singleness because I don’t need anyone else to be happy. I’m content with who I am, and I don’t need you or any other man to tell me I’m beautiful, I’m worthy, and I’m special just to feel so because God made me perfectly in His image and I rest easy in that truth. I don’t need a man in my life to show me I’m loved, cherished, or wanted because He shows me daily more than any man ever could.

Leave a Reply

