Dear Future Husband

Dear Future Husband,

Here’s a few things you need to know if… just kidding, I’m not about to quote Meghan Trainor, but I do have a few things to say.

Although I have yet to meet you, God says:

“She brings him (her husband) good and not evil all the days of her life.” (Proverbs 31:12)

So that means loving and appreciating you even before I’ve met you, right?

Someday down the road, you’re going to read this and I’ll want you to realize just how much I’ve appreciated you all these years, even before I knew exactly who God had in store for the happy ending of my love story.

First and foremost, I’d like to thank you for putting up with all my sass. That’s quite a daunting task deserving of an award. Seriously. Thank you for understanding that even when you say something really cute to me, I will probably never fail to ruin the moment with some sarcastic response, just because I can. I am probably one of the sassiest people you have ever met, and yet, somehow, you’ve managed to handle me in my sassiest state, which is quite an accomplishment. I’m impressed you can still tolerate me even after all the countless times I’ve teased you or mocked something funny you did, just to laugh at it all over again. You know that even if I wanted to stop myself… I just couldn’t.

Thank you… for being understanding on the days I don’t want to go out… for being okay with chill dates at home streaming Netflix or watching the game on TV… for listening to all my random singing constantly throughout the house (yes I am currently singing “Dear Future Husband” sorry I can’t help it)… for putting up with all my weird behavior when I’m jacked up on sugar and can’t help it… for not making fun of how excited I get when you say you’ll watch The Grinch with me… for dealing with my extremely picky eating habits and strong loathing for oranges… for telling me I’m beautiful even when I look my absolute worst… but most importantly, thank you for loving me on my good days and my bad days.

I can never thank you enough for being so unbelievably unlike any other guy. I’m forever grateful that you showed me why it has never worked out with anyone else before you and helped me recover from all those years spent battling Pissed at Men Syndrome. I swear it’s a real thing. You reminded me again why I waited so long, and why I never settled along the way.

Most importantly, thank you for being such a godly gentleman and showing me how real men are supposed to treat women. I appreciate how you actually took the time to understand me and got to know my quirks. You actually cared about the innermost parts of me and finding out why I react the way I do to certain things. You understood I needed time and respected the fact that I take things very slowly. You never rushed things, and you never ever got tired of waiting for me. Thank you.

“Many claim to have unfailing love, but who can find a faithful man?” (Proverbs 20:6)

I can’t wait for the day I find you.

Yours Truly,

Your Future Wife

Leave a Reply

